Sign Up

The muladhara or root chakra is located at the base of the spine. Muladhara is a Sanskrit word meaning "root support." According to Swami Saradananda, in her wonderful book "Chakra Meditation," the muladhara chakra works to provide an energetic base for the individual and is associated with matter in its most dense form.

The muladhara chakra's associated element is earth and its color is red. Per ancient Indian tradition, it is the chakra which holds a powerful storehouse of potential spiritual energy called kundalini.

Swami Saradananda explains that a balanced muladhara or root chakra releases energy downward (grounding like a lightening rod) as it simultaneously draws energy upward from earth engendering feelings of safety and security. An imbalanced muladhara chakra may be related to childhood trauma and feelings of isolation, insecurity and fear.

A balanced muladhara or root chakra increases overall well-being and aides in the manifestation of dreams and ideas. Swami Saradananda recommends adding essential oils such as sandalwood, vetiver or clary sage to a bath prior to meditation on this chakra. Crystals which amplify root chakra energy include hematite, smoky quartz and garnet. They may be placed directly on the chakra or held in the hand during meditation. Also recommended, dietary changes such as an increase in root vegetables, vegetable protein and seeds when working with this very important chakra.

I am currently working with the muladhara chakra as part of my 7 week chakra series based on Swami Saradananda's very comprehensive book. More on the muladhara chakra next post, including my meditation progress and pics of my own root chakra altar. I have been wanting to make a chakra altar going all the way back to one of my first and still dearly loved chakra books, "The Book of Chakra Healing" by Liz Simpson.

Pictured above: A traditional muladhara yantra (yantra is Sanskrit for "instrument"). The yantra is a Vedic power symbol composed of several highly symbolic design elements. All yantras contain geometric patterns designed to draw the eye inward and provide focus and stillness of mind which may serve as a portal into the absolute.

Check Out My Chakra Series Here:
  1. Root Chakra Week 1 & Summing Up the Root Chakra (Root Chakra 2) 
  2. Radiating Orange (Sacral Chakra)
  3. Finding My Center: Self-Confidence and the Solar Plexus Chakra (Solar Plexus Chakra)
  4. The Fourth Chakra and the Energy of Nature (Heart Chakra)
  5.  The Chakras as a System (Synergy / Throat Chakra)
  6. A Wall Of Azure Blue: Meditating on the 6th Chakra  (Third Eye Chakra)
  7. The Crown Chakra and the Capriciousness of Spirit (Crown Chakra) 
Related Articles:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking the time to comment on this article.
Please know that your feedback is cherished!